Cowlitz County contains part of the 19th and 20th Legislative Districts

A map of legislative districts is available at:

Cowlitz County is located in a portion of 2 legislative districts, the 19th Legislative District and the 20th Legislative District. Washington State has 49 Legislative Districts, each commonly referred to as an LD. These LD’s are geographic areas defined each 10 years based on the population data from the United States Census. They are designed to provide equal representation for citizen population. Each LD elects 2 State Representatives for the State House of Representatives, and 1 State Senator for the State Senate. A typical LD may have 50,000-80,000 voters.

Each LD elects a Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and a male and female State Committeeperson. The State Committeepersons represent their LD and vote at the state party meetings.